Masthead header

What’s Your Love Language? Test Yo’Self!

Relationships on any level (friendship, familial, dating, marriage) can be difficult.

For you, that may be the understatement of the century. A bigger understatement than saying that Rihanna and Chris Brown have issues.

There have been times where a friend of mine came up to me, crying, asking for my forgiveness, because she’s been mad at me for not showing her love. “What is she talking about?” I would think to myself, as I accepted her apology and lovingly validated our friendship. Things like that would happen often. Or, I’d be on the other side, feeling assaulted with thoughts that a close friend of mine really, truly didn’t love me, even though she swore she did.

Then, my mentor told me about the 5 Love Languages Test. After my friends and I took this test, heavenly choirs sang on high, and light bulbs levitated over our heads, giving off a blinding glow, with which we used to read our test results.

I knew, immediately, this is what our friendships were missing.

We weren’t giving the other person what they wanted/needed. And, we had no clue how to communicate what we wanted/needed to them! So we were stuck in this sick cycle of constantly offending one another, apologizing for it, crying/hugging it out, and then it would start over again.

If you’ve been drowning in the tears shed over relationship drama by you/your friend/your spouse/your siblings, then I have a lifesaver to offer you. (And them!)

The 5 Love Languages test was developed by a guy named Dr. Gary Chapman. He’s been married for over 45 years, and has been pastoring/mentoring for over 35 years. This guy knows from experience what relationships need to not only survive, but to thrive.

He has determined that there are 5 different ‘Love Languages.’ Each person has a certain way that they best receive (and give!) love. The 5 different languages are:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch

The best part of this is – the Love Languages quiz is online, and it is free! You don’t have to go buy a book. (Unless, you want to – he has quite a few books published.)

Just go to to discover what your language is!

Just in case you’re wondering…. My main languages are Physical Touch and Receiving Gifts. So, I feel the most loved from my husband/friends/family when they hold my hand or hug me, and when they give me little meaningful gifts (like a note, or a cup of coffee, or flowers).

And, as a bonus – I’ll also include the link to their Apology Languages test. Some of us may need this if the ‘love month’ didn’t meet our significant others’ expectations. — The Apology Languages

What’s your love language?

What’s your apology language?

Share with us!